Draix observatory is composed of 7 catchments of varying size, morphology and vegetation cover.

The Roubine, Moulin, Laval and Francon catchments are located on a highly erodible shale substrate (badlands). The Brusquet catchment has been reforested by the French Forest Office (Mountain Restoration Service) at the end of the XIXth century.

The observatory was extended with several stations on the Bléone catchment during 2007 and 2012. Among these stations, the Bouinenc and Galabre are still monitored. These larger catchments integrate a wider diversity of lithologies, morphologies and land covers.

Draix-Bleone observatory catchments

Location of Draix-Bleone observatory catchments: red markers indicate the hydrosedimentary stations